关于该协会

协会介绍

阿尔伯塔工业中心是全球化学、石化、石油和天然气投资最具吸引力的地区之一。 也是加拿大最大的碳氢化合物加工区域。 该区域的40多家公司(其中几家为跨国公司)为省和全球消费者提供燃料、化肥、电力、石化产品以及更多产品。

阿尔伯塔工业中心协会致力于:

  • 提供单一方法来促进工业发展
  • 积极有效地协作以促进服务和基础设施
  • 规划该区域的使用,同时最大限度地提高吸引力和有效的工业发展
  • 促进和支持采取协调一致的方法,实现和维持符合适当标准的应急准备、公共安全和卫生水平

市级成员

阿尔伯塔工业中心由致力于生态工业可持续发展的非营利市政协会指导。阿尔伯塔工业中心协会(AIHA)由市政于1998年创建,每个市政都在阿尔伯塔工业中心地理区域内拥有土地。

AIHA的一个主要原则为促进该地区负责任地发展。 这包括确保该地区在基础设施、服务和土地使用分区原则上已做好发展准备。 AIHA认识到该地区内的活动可能会对邻近社区产生重大影响,并影响其服务的交付。 市政共同采取积极和合作的方式进行规划和工业发展。

这五个市政合作伙伴在该中心的地理范围内拥有土地,并且在协会内各有一票:

2011年增加了准会员。 准会员是受邀参加委员会、工作组并参加理事会会议的市政当局。 虽然准会员没有投票权,但他们的意见将促使协会采取行动。

三名准会员包括:

董事会

作为非营利协会,AIHA由董事会管理,五个市政合作伙伴推举每一个代表组成董事会。董事会为AIHA执行董事和工作人员提供总体指导和战略重点。董事会和AIHA员工与众多利益相关方(包括政府、私营企业和当地居民)紧密合作,确保负责任、高效率和对环境无害的发展。

城际合作

阿尔伯塔工业中心协会遵循一套运营原则和协议,该原则和协议由合作城市的市长和/或长官于1998年5月签署。

AIHA市间合作协议

萨斯喀彻温堡市、埃德蒙顿市、拉蒙特郡、士达孔拿郡和斯特金郡等参与市政府同意彼此合作并与其他利益相关方合作,以实现阿尔伯塔工业中心协会的目标。 在此过程中,每个市政都同意将遵守运营原则。

目标

  • 共同促进该中心地区的工业发展。
  • 彼此尊重司法完整和自治。
  • 以区域为基础,积极、有效且切实可行地提供或促进提供该地区所需服务和基础设施。
  • 促进该中心的参与市政与其他利益相关方之间沟通开放且关系和谐。
  • 协作为该地区的用途和基础设施作出规划,最大程度地提高其吸引力并高效促进工业发展,同时最大程度地减少该地区及其周边地区的土地使用和环境冲突。
  • 在规划和开发方面,确保与该地区的工业和非工业土地所有者进行定期且全面的沟通,和创造以使各方参与其中的机会。
  • 促进和支持一个协调一致的方法,使该中心地区实现和维持符合适当标准的环境质量和可持续性。
  • 促进和支持采取协调一致的方法,在该中心实现和维持符合适当标准的应急准备、公共安全和卫生水平

协会历史

自1950年代以来,世界著名公司就选择落户于阿尔伯塔工业中心,充分利用其众多优势。 自那时以来,中心的规模不断增长,当务之急是通过该地区企业、市政府和居民之间的合作,积极发展中心。 在1990年代初期,开始了一项全面的倡议,将所有利益相关方召集在一起创建该区域新的合作模式。

阿尔伯塔工业中心协会(AIHA)于1998年5月正式成立,联合了该地区的四个城市、三级政府和东北地区资本工业协会(Northeast Capital Industrial Association,行业代表)。 萨斯喀彻温堡市、埃德蒙顿市、拉蒙特郡、士达孔拿郡和斯特金郡市政府通过董事会成为官方合作伙伴,为协会提供了战略指导。 这些合作伙伴认识到,联合资源将增强其有效地在该地区吸引业务、改善规划并确保补充利用资源。 2010年,埃德蒙顿市成为第五个市政合作伙伴,为促进整个首府地区及其周边地区工业协调发展做出努力。 2011年,三位准会员获得了认证——布鲁德海姆镇、吉本斯镇和红水镇。 2018年,AIHA喜庆成立20周年。

迄今为止,中心区域已经吸引了超过$400亿的投资,并已发展成为加拿大最大的碳氢化合物加工区域。 工业用地的地理区域扩大到582平方公里(225平方英里),企业发展壮大,雇用了6,000多的优秀工人。 未来发展将进一步提高该地区的沥青升级能力、管道网络和石化加工能力。

战略合作伙伴

阿尔伯塔工业中心协会的成功很大程度上取决于其蓬勃发展的伙伴关系。 三名准成员,通过董事会与五个市政的代表(每一市政一名代表)共同合作。

市政成员以外的伙伴关系对区域成功也至关重要。 与行业、政府和其他非营利组织的合作形式多样,例如其组织的会员资格、出席会议、联合项目和信息共享等。

我们协会的主要合作伙伴包括:

Fort Air Partnership(地区空气合伙组织)

地区空气合伙组织是一个独立的非营利组织,其任务如下:运营区域网络,以监控和报告可靠且全面的环境空气质量信息。

东北地区资本工业协会

NCIA是一家位于阿尔伯塔工业中心的,非营利、合作性行业代表。 NCIA的成员公司范围广,包括大型综合性全球化工和石化行业到工业服务公司。

东北地区社区意识应急响应

NR CAER是由40多个具有社区意识的行业、市政、化学品运输商和政府机构组成的伙伴关系,致力于阿尔伯塔工业中心的应急响应和教育计划。

Edmonton Global(埃德蒙顿全球)

埃德蒙顿全球是为了促进埃德蒙顿都会地区利益相关方之间的经济发展合作,以在全球范围内推广该地区,并吸引和保持该地区的商业投资和贸易。

阿尔伯塔省政府——经济发展与贸易

加拿大政府——西方经济多元化

年度利益相关方活动

AIHA门票销售现已开始

阿尔伯塔工业中心协会将于2020年1月30日(星期四)在阿尔伯塔省埃德蒙顿市的埃德蒙顿会议中心举行年度利益相关方活动。 这个全天的社交会议为与会者提供了与行业专家和推选官员互动的机会。 该项目旨在突出工业中心的活动,就行业内重要的主题提供政策相关的见解,并提供投资机遇相关信息。 此次活动预计将有1100名与会者和世界一流的演讲者阵容,以全面、舒适的形式提供行业洞察和专业知识。 我们的年度利益相关方活动与会席位每年都销售一空,并吸引了世界上一些最大的行业参与者来参与。

活动参与方

  • 联邦、省和市推选官员
  • 行业专家和公司首席执行官
  • 政府和工业界的高级职员,包括AB Economic Development and Trade(阿尔伯塔经济发展和贸易局)、Municipal Affairs(市政事务局)、能源、基础设施、交通、环境和公园等部门或领域的职员
  • 东北地区资本工业协会、士达孔拿工业协会(Strathcona Industrial Association)和勒杜克/尼斯库经济发展协会(Leduc/Nisku Economic Development Association)等行业合作伙伴的代表
  • 相关行业合作伙伴,例如Chemical Industry Association of Canada(加拿大化学工业协会)、Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers(加拿大石油生产商协会)和Canadian Heavy Oil Association(加拿大重油协会)等
  • 个人、协会和咨询公司在工业中心进行了投资
了解有关2020 AIHA年度利益相关方活动的更多信息

The Association

Who We Are

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland is one of the world’s most attractive locations for chemical, petrochemical, oil, and gas investment. It is also Canada’s largest hydrocarbon processing region. The region’s 40+ companies, several being world scale, provide fuels, fertilizers, power, petrochemicals and more to provincial and global consumers.

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association strives to:

  • provide a single approach to promote and facilitate industrial development
  • proactively and efficiently collaborate on facilitating services and infrastructure
  • plan for the area’s use while maximizing attractiveness and efficient industrial development
  • promote and support a coordinated approach to achieving and maintaining appropriate standards of emergency preparedness, public safety, and health

Municipal Members

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland is guided by a non profit association of municipalities dedicated to sustainable eco-industrial development. Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association (AIHA) was created in 1998 by the municipalities who each had land within the geographic area of Alberta’s Industrial Heartland.

A leading principal of AIHA is promoting responsible development within the region. This includes ensuring the region is ready for development in its infrastructure, services, and land use zoning principles. AIHA recognizes that activities in the area can have a major impact on neighboring communities and affect their service delivery as well. Together, the municipalities take a proactive and cooperative approach to planning and industrial development.

The five municipal partners have land within the geographic boundaries of the Heartland and each have one vote within the Association:

Associate Membership was added in 2011. Associate Members are municipalities invited to participate on committees, task forces, and attend Board meetings. While Associate Members do not have voting rights, their views contribute to the actions taken by the Association.

The three Associate Members include:

Board of Directors

As a not-for-profit association, AIHA is governed by a Board of Directors, comprised of one representative of each of the five municipal partners. The Board of Directors provides general direction and strategic priorities for AIHA Executive Director and staff members. Ensuring responsible, productive, and environmentally sound development, the Board and AIHA staff work closely with numerous stakeholders, including government, private industry, and area residents.

Intermunicipal Cooperation

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association is guided by a set of operating principles and protocols, signed by the Mayors and/or Reeves of the partner municipalities in May 1998.

AIHA Intermunicipal Cooperation Protocol

The participating municipalities of the City of Fort Saskatchewan, City of Edmonton, Lamont County, Strathcona County, and Sturgeon County agree to cooperate and collaborate with each other and with other stakeholders toward achievement of Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association’s objectives. In doing so, it is agreed that each municipality will abide by the operating principles.

Objectives

  • To jointly promote and facilitate the industrial development of the Heartland area.
  • To respect each other’s jurisdictional integrity and autonomy.
  • To provide or facilitate the provision of services and infrastructure required for the area on a proactive, efficient and where feasible, regional basis.
  • To promote open communication and harmony amongst participating Heartland municipalities and other interested parties.
  • To collaboratively plan for the area’s use and infrastructure in a manner which maximizes its attractiveness and efficient functioning for industrial development while minimizing land use and environmental conflicts within the area and on its periphery.
  • To ensure regular and considerate communication and opportunities for involvement with both industrial and non-industrial landowners of the area with respect to its planning and development.
  • To promote and support a coordinated approach to achieving and maintaining appropriate standards of environmental quality and sustainability for the Heartland area.
  • To promote and support a coordinated approach to achieving and maintaining appropriate standards of emergency preparedness, public safety and health for the Heartland area.

Our History

Since the 1950s, world renowned corporations have chosen to locate in Alberta’s Industrial Heartland, taking advantage of its many benefits. Growing in size and scale since that time, it was imperative that development in the Heartland was approached proactively, with collaboration among the area’s businesses, municipal governments, and residents. In the early 1990’s, a comprehensive initiative began, bringing together all stakeholders to create a new model of cooperation in the region.

Formally launched in May 1998, Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association (AIHA) united the four municipalities in the area, three levels of government, and the Northeast Capital Industrial Association (representing industry). The municipalities of Fort Saskatchewan, Lamont County, Strathcona County, and Sturgeon County became official partners through a Board of Directors, providing strategic direction to the Association. These partners recognized that joining resources would enhance their effectiveness in attracting business to the region, improve planning, and ensuring complementary use of resources. In 2010, the City of Edmonton became the fifth municipal partner in an effort to enhance coordination of industrial development in and around the entire Capital Region. Three Associate Members were recognized in 2011 – Towns of Bruderheim, Gibbons, and Redwater. In 2018, AIHA proudly celebrated its 20th anniversary.

To date, the Heartland region has attracted over $40 billion of investment and has developed into Canada’s largest hydrocarbon processing region. The geographic area expanded to encompass 582 square kilometres (225 square miles) of industrial land, and businesses grew to employ a refining workforce of more than 6,000 people. Future development is slated to further increase the region’s bitumen upgrading capacity, pipeline network, and petrochemical processing capabilities.

Strategic Partnerships


The success of Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association is, in large part, dependent on thriving partnerships. Our five municipal members in addition to our three associate members together work collaboratively through a Board of Directors with one representative from each municipality.

Partnerships outside the municipal members are also vital to success. Cooperation with industry, government, and other non-profit groups occurs in a variety of forms, such as membership in their organizations, attendance at meetings, joint projects, and information sharing.

Key partners with our Association include:

Fort Air Partnership

The Fort Air Partnership is an independent, non-profit organization with the following mission: To operate a regional network to monitor and report credible and comprehensive ambient air quality information.

Northeast Capital Industrial Association

NCIA is a not-for-profit cooperative representing industry located in Alberta’s Industrial Heartland. NCIA member companies range from large integrated global chemical and petrochemical industries, to industrial service companies.

Northeast Region Community Awareness Emergency Response

NR CAER is a partnership of more than 40 community-minded industries, municipalities, chemical transporters and government agencies dedicated to emergency response and education initiatives in Alberta’s Industrial Heartland.

Edmonton Global

Edmonton Global was established to advance economic development cooperation amongst stakeholders of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, to promote the region globally, and to attract and retain business investment and trade for the region.

Government of Alberta – Economic Development and Trade

Government of Canada – Western Economic Diversification 

Annual Stakeholder Event

SOLD OUT - TICKET SALES CLOSED

Alberta’s Industrial Heartland Association will hold its Annual Stakeholder Event on Thursday, January 17, 2019 at the Edmonton Convention Centre (Formerly the Shaw Conference Centre) in Edmonton, Alberta. This full-day networking conference offers attendees an opportunity to engage with industry experts and elected officials. The program is designed to highlight activity in the Industrial Heartland region, to offer policy-related insights on topics important to our industry, and to provide information on opportunities for investment. With an expected 1,000 attendees and a world-class line up of speakers, the event delivers industry insight and sector expertise in a comprehensive, comfortable format. Our Annual Stakeholder Event sells out every year and boasts attendance from some of the world’s largest industry players.

Who Attends Our Event

  • Federal, provincial and municipal elected officials
  • Industry experts and company CEOs
  • Senior staff from government and industry, including AB Economic Development and Trade, Municipal Affairs, Energy, Infrastructure, Transportation, and Environment and Parks
  • Representatives from industry partners, like Northeast Capital Industrial Association, Strathcona Industrial Association and Leduc/Nisku Economic Development Association
  • Associated industry partners, like Chemical Industry Association of Canada, Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, and the Canadian Heavy Oil Association
  • Individuals, associations and consulting firms invested in the Industrial Heartland
Learn more about the 2019 AIHA Annual Stakeholder Event